Dawn in the Meadow – Acrylic on Watercolour Paper

Last night I saw a brilliant speed painting on YouTube.  It’s by a super artist who’s channel is  StudioSilverCreek .  There’s lots of lovely painting to watch there.  Here’s the video I watched:

I didn’t know you could paint with Acrylics on watercolour paper so I thought I’d give it a go. Initially my plan was to work on a study of the original painting by StudioSilverCreek – just to see if I could make it work.

So I began the same way:

meadowPaint1

meadowPaint2

meadowPaint3

But as I thought about drawing the person going fishing (as seen in the original) I decided to make some changes.  Instead I drew two sillouettes – one of a bird and one of a person kneeling in the meadow.  I got both the bird and the person to look at the same place and then drew a small flower there as the primary focus for the painting.  I’m quite pleased with how it worked out.  The watercolour paper was OK.  At first I had some difficulties with bits of paper rubbing off but I was using a decorating brush at the time – it might be a bit harsh!  🙂  After the first layer or two were dry though the surface improved and was absolutely fine.

Here’s the finished painting:

dawninthemeadow_FIN_WEB

Credit to StudioSilverCreek for this study, as I was learning from her work.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Dawn in the Meadow – Acrylic on Watercolour Paper

  1. I’m so glad you could see the wind. 🙂 I wanted it to push the viewer from the left towards the tree (because there were no solid objects on the left of the picture so it needed something from that side to hold the balance. I tried making the grass taller but it wasn’t solid enough to balance the tree.)
    Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.