Love’s Sacrifice #2 (still unfinished)

I’m still working on my bigger project, ‘Love’s Sacrifice’ although I’ve been struggling with my health in the last two weeks as well so I’ve only done about 2 hours of painting in that time.  I’ve completed the background, laid in some basic hair and begun to add the final colour to the body on the right hand side.  I’ve not allowed myself to extend a project beyond a week or two before and I am finding it’s lovely to take things at a more relaxed pace.  Anyway, this isn’t a finished picture, but here’s where it’s at at the moment…

 

My plans now are

  • to complete the body colour, adding a small soft reflected highlight on the right and the main direct highlighting on the left,
  • to finish the hair properly and then
  • to add the crown of thorns and the marks from him being scourged by the soldiers.
5 thoughts on “Love’s Sacrifice #2 (still unfinished)

  1. Thanks so much for your thoughts Dave. Like I said to Graham, it’s not finished yet and I will need to adjust the tones there, we’ll have to wait and see. Your social justice campaign picture sounds amazing! WIll you be able to post a copy online when it’s done? I’d love to see it. Best of luck with the Blake Art Prize too – that looks quite daunting! Good on you!
    Thanks again,
    Jo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jo, I can see where Graham is coming from, however, it does not detract from the whole work. I am starting a work on Friday which will be along the same lines as the stage your picture is at now. Mine will be a child, darker in skin tone, holding a bowl for scraps, or donations. Its for a social justice campaign called “Inside Out” seeing things from a different perspective.
    I love your choice of background colour in this work. I am working on works of the face of Christ for the Blake Art Prize.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blake_Prize_for_Religious_Art
    I write poetry too.
    Congratulations with this work. Love your stuff. get better soon.
    Dave

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks! I’m still working on that. I’m using a digital manquin I put intot he position I wanted as a refernce – so I’ll check it all against that.
    Thanks again!

    Like

  4. Jo, I’m having trouble with the muscle shadows on the left arm. I don’t think the one on the right at the elbow should be there and the top one could be knocked back a bit = hope this helps.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

