“I am Batman”

This week I wanted to draw / paint in greyscale – more of a tonal study.  I thought the Dark Knight (Batman) would make the perfect subject.

For this picture I used a variety of painting and drawing tools. ..

  • Pencil HB, 2B, 4B
  • Ink pens – W&N Brush Markers, Copic Multiliner 0.5
  • Ink and a brush
  • Charcoal powder and a tissue

I began with a sketch:

 

Then I began filling it in…

I used the brush markers and brush painted ink as a basic tonal layer and then used the pencils to create a smoother gradient on top.

 

I made up my own moulding of his headgear (which was brilliant fun!)

I kind of cheated a bit with Batman’s chin.  I’ve never painted the Dark Knight before but I’d had a go at Judge Dredd a few times so I used my version of Dredd’s chin!!!

 

 

Once my main subject was completed I sketched in my background.

 

I used similar techniques to draw my buildings in the middle background but kept the tonal range of them narrower and lighter to create distance and force Batman forward in the picture.

Then to make the sky I masked off the lighter area I wanted for the projected bat signal and then used a charcoal technique.

 

Instead of drawing with a charcoal stick or a charcoal pencil I scraped a stick repeatedly over a tissue to get some charoal dust on it and then used it to make a moody cloudy grey sky.

 

Finally I painted the bat signal in black and added some shading to the circle and it was done…

batman_mixedmedia_fin_web

NB:  The picture is my own work but Batman as a character is the property of DC comics.

12 thoughts on ““I am Batman”

  1. Thanks Dave – you are always so encouraging. At the moment I’m keeping all the artwork. I would like to sell some but I am not allowed to sell on the internet as the leashold agreement for my home doesn’t allow it! I’m hoping to send it to gallery or something like that in the future. Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. you are so organised as an artist Jo. I wish I could be that way. you have a true skill. I hope you have an outlet where you can sell your works…or are you keeping them all to yourself.
    Dave

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

