Days 71 to 72 – Facial Expressions, Encoding and Autism 2#2

My next plan was to make my own facial expression drawings based on Mark Crilley’s guidance but using my own made up Manga character.

Also, while working on this I was reading the early chapters of ‘Bakuman’ – a Manga series about two lads who decide to become Manga creators.

Bakuman Manga Cover
“Bakuman Manga Cover”

I got to the bit where the artist in the pair decides to work with nothing but a G-pen (which is a kind of dip pen with a nib very commonly used in manga called a G-nib.)  I thought this would be really cool to try.  So I had a dig around and found an old Italian dip pen and a flexible calligraphy nib which works well and very much like a G-nib.  Then I drew the sketches on Bristol Board (because the ‘Calli’ Calligraphy ink I’m using bleeds around each line in my notebook) and inked them with the dip pen.

This is my dip pen …

calligdippen

But the nib I’m using is not the one which came with this pen, it’s a modern calligraphy nib very similar to a G-nib…

mynib

 

At first it was really difficult to use the dip pen.  Line pressure needed to be controlled as well as direction.  My lines were noticably wobbly, they didn’t have a good shape and they took ages to dry.  Lucky for me there were twleve pictures to do, so I managed to have a good practice.

Here are the results…

Set one…

1to4of12facesfin_web

 

Here’s set two…

5to8of12facesfin_web

 

And here are the last four…

9to12of12facesfin_web

 

By the end of it I beginning to find my way into occasional good lines.  Even though I’m only beginning with this, I prefer the look of the dip pen lines to the multiliner.  The biggest problem I had overall with this method was that they took 2-3 hours to dry where the lines were thick.

Here’s a picture of the wet ink…

wet-ink

 

At the moment I can only really tell the following facial expressions – OK (plain face), angry (shouting), sad(crying) and happy(laughing).   I was going to look into the ones depicted rather simplistically in manga to see if I can learn to recognise a few more in real life.  However I’ve since found out that, for instance, the confused manga look isn’t that close to what most people do on their face when they are actually confused in life.  So I’ll just go on enjoying manga!

 

6 thoughts on “Days 71 to 72 – Facial Expressions, Encoding and Autism 2#2

  1. I currently use Lamy Al Stars with F and EF nibs. I like that Lamy’s have easy to exchange nibs so I also have an M but rarely use it. I’m hoping to get a fountain pen with a flexi nib at some stage.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow thanks! I know what you mean about the dip pens. Drawings can get smudged with just my one son around and my nosey little dog. Four kids and two cats would be impossible! I might try to find a fountain pen with the right sort of nib. It’s a great idea. I hope the faces drawing idea helps your son. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think you did a great job with the expressive faces. Each one was distinct and successfully conveyed the emotion you were aiming for. I love using my dip pen but with four kids and two cats in the house it is not always the most convenient method of ink drawing for me. Recently I have taken to using fountain pens so that the ink is more contained and under control. It is ideal for quick work or for drawing when I am on the move. Incidentally, my oldest son has ASD (Aspergers) and likes manga and drawing so you’ve inspired me to suggest he tries drawing different emotions so that he gets quicker at identifying them from people’s facial expressions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

