Days 45 and 46 – Three-Banded Armadillo – Ink and Digital Colour

From the same issue of National Geographic I was looking at a few days ago I found a great picture of a Three-Banded Armadillo.  They are such unusual creatures and I always think they look really cool.   So  sketched this one…

3bandedarmadillosketch_web
My Sketch Above with Nattional Geographic Reference Photo below.

Then I inked the picture with watersoluble ink and added some greyscale tone using water…

armadillo-ink_fin_web

Then I scanned it in and coloured it digitally…

armadillo-colourfin_web

I think he’s a pretty cool looking little dude!

10 thoughts on “Days 45 and 46 – Three-Banded Armadillo – Ink and Digital Colour

    1. It took about an hour for the drawing and inking and then about half an hour for the digital colour. I’m really lucky with things like the scales – I enjoy repetative tasks like that – they help me relax. Perhaps that’s part of my autism coming out? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

