Days 43 and 44 – Waves of Ink

I have always loved the now famous painting by Katsushika Hokusai of ‘The Great Wave off Kanagawa’. 

It has that quality I love in paintings where it feels like it can speak to my heart things which words can’t say.

So when I came across a lovely ink training exercise by a YouTube artist I really like which reminded me of this painting I thought I’d give it a go.

The YouTube artist is a chap called Alphonso Dunn.  He’s not only a good artist but he’s a really natural teacher.  I really like his videos.  Here’s the video I watched…

Here’s my sketch…

wavesscan_web

 

I decided to go for a fish as my subject rather than a boat and I varied the height and form of my waves a bit more to try to balance the composition and give it a good shape.  It took me some time to get to the final composition  as I worked on all of these things.

Then, the nest day, I inked it using my usual Staedtler liner pens (0.05 to 0.8).  I really took my time and enjoyed it.

waves-ink-fin-web

I thought about adding pencil shading or greyscale tone digitally but, for this picture, I think the ink stands well on it’s own and adding to it ruins some of the simplicity of the style.  I’m really pleased with the results of this – thanks for a great lesson Alphonso!

6 thoughts on “Days 43 and 44 – Waves of Ink

Leave a Reply

