Days 29 to 31 – Animal Managery

I sketched out some animals in my notebook and used their shapes to kind of fit close together (ish).  Here is my line work:

animals-ink-fin-web

Then I shaded them with pencil..

animal-managery-2_web

 

I really liked this effect – with an ink outline and the shading in pencil.

For ages now I’ve been looking for a way to illustrate in a comic style which I like and am happy with.  I’ve been playing around with different styles for years now.  However,   I just spent a few hours colouring the above  ‘Animal Managery’ drawing .  I did this in Photoshop and used a cell shading style with a mid, light and dark version of each local colour.  I did it straight over the top of the pencil and ink drawing – setting the drawing layer to multiply.

Here’s the result…

animal-managery-col-flat_fin

I think I’ve stumbled onto a style which I finally really like.  I’m going to follow up on this!  🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Days 29 to 31 – Animal Managery

  1. very cool! love this post Jo! I can see so many possibilities for this approach! you make it look easy, but I’m hopeless at PS and layers. I can only …… look and admire!! cheers, Debi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

