Days 13 and 14 – Samurai Ink

I came across some totally inspired Stock photos on DeviantArt the other day.  They are by a German artist and photographer called Phelan Davion.   There is a whole series on Samurai in different poses.  The one I liked the best from the very first time I saw it was this one:

samurai_stock_iii_by_phelandavion-d9o0gnn

(Please find the original of this super image in Davion’s Deviant Art gallery.)

 

So I made a quick sketch:

d14-samurai-sketch_fin

 

And then had tremendous fun inking it:

d14-samurai-ink_fin_web

Because so much of the Samurai was dark I had to play around with texture effects in the ink to distinguish different areas of his armour.

Later I also added some basic grey shading to the ink.  I had to do this is Photoshop since my grey pens haven’t arrived yet.  Here’s the finished picture:

d14-samurai-inkand-shading_fin_web

 

While I do really like the purity of having just the black ink to work with I think even a single grey shade adds a nice feel to it.  When my grey ink pens come I’m going to try doing all of it by hand and see what that looks like.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Days 13 and 14 – Samurai Ink

  1. I don’t really know. I’m using a Faber Castell set at the moment but I’m not happy with them. They don’t cover evenly at all. I’ve been doing some online research in all of this and I think I’m going to try the Winsor Newton brush pens for both greys and colours. They’re alcohol based and have excellent pigment so should blend to an even coverage. They also come with a colourless blender to help make things smooth. Hope this helps!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

