Manga Scenery – The Lake

Today I had a look at painting a full manga scene based on a young lad fishing at a lake.

I began with a rough sketch:

riversketch

 

Then I drew it again in ink and scanned it into my PC:

lineart fishing lake

 

Next I blocked off certain areas and gave each one a seperate colour so I can then easily select different sections of the image.  This is called flat colour:

flats fishing lake

Then I coloured the background and foreground.  Rather than colouring in flat colour and adding shadows I decided to paint each area using the watercolour brishes in Manga Studio.  I guess I’m still struggling to find the style I ultimately want to go with.  My feeling

is that this will come with experience.

Here’s the final picture:

Fishing Lake_FIN_WEB

2 thoughts on “Manga Scenery – The Lake

Leave a Reply

