Suzi the Teenage Dragon – Completed Original Design!

I wanted to work out a good format for painting / drawing Suzi the Teenage Dragon.  So I redrew Suzi carefully in dark pencil and scanned her in to my PC and saved the file.

Scan FInal Dragon Design Good drawing

Then I inked the pencil drawing and shaded it also in ink.  I scanned this in too.

Scan_Ink Drawing of Suzi_FIN_WEB

 

I wanted to make a manga version, in greyscale, with the ink drawing and a full colour version with the pencil.

With the Manga version I just coloured the picture in using greyscale and then added some shading where the ink lines asked for it.  Here’s how it turned out.

Full Manga of Suzi_FIN_WEB

To make the colour version I first cleaned the image and set up some flat colour in photoshop.

Flats_COlour Suzi

Then I opened the file in Manga Studio and coloured her mainly using watercolour paintbrushes.

Final Dragon Design Colour_WEB

 

However, being such a sucker for colour I then wanted to see the ink drawing line art over the colour.  So with a bit of fiddling around I managed to import the ink drawing as a layer and use the same colour on it.  This turned out to be my favourite style.  I’m going to use this method for the rest of this project, but with slightly less in the way of shading with ink.  I want to restrict the ink ‘shading’ to only indicating texture because I can shade the image easily when I colour it.

Here she is…

Suzi Ink and Colour_FIN_WEB

I feel that she’s beginning to look like a proper girly teenage dragon now.  Perfect for my story.

2 thoughts on “Suzi the Teenage Dragon – Completed Original Design!

Leave a Reply

