Exercise on Planes of the Head

I really like learning new drawing techniques and theory and YouTube seems to be a good place to do this.  Yesterday I watched a couple of good videos.  One of them was by Sycra and was about looking at anatomy in a simplified way which I thought was great.  His website is at http://www.sycra.net/. 

And his simplified anatomy model is here.

This got me thinking about the planes of the face.  Now I’m OK-ish drawing a front view and a side view of a face but I find the 3/4 view quite difficult.  I often mess it up.  SO I thought I’d work on that a bit.

I followed the technique in this pair of videos by “My Drawing Tutorials”.

 

This one…

 

And this one…

 

I watched them and then had a go.  My first two tries were pretty awful but it was fun to mess around with it.  I tried the first two times in ink which was a not a great choice because there’s no going back from a mistake.

3 quater head try 1

 

3 quater head try 2

 

Then I had a go in pencil which was much easier.  It’s still not perfect – I’m going to have to work on this some more, but at least I have a good solid method to work with now.   🙂

 

3 quater head._FIN_WEB

Leave a Reply

