Little Owl – Illustration in Gouache

Yesterday on WordPress I found this lovely picture of an owl by Ashley Wolff:

Lovely Owl Card By Ashley Wolff

I love owls.  I think they are my favourite animals.  So I loooked at some owls on the web and found this beautiful “Small Owl”

Athene_noctua_(cropped)

This isn’t my photo.  I tracked the photo down to a number of websites but, unfortunately, couldn’t find the author.

 

So this is my process of illustrating this owl.

“Sketch”

small_owl_sketch

“Lettering”

small_owl_lettering2

“Light Shadows and Eye Colour”

small_owl_lightshadow_and_eyes

“Head Plumage”

small_owl_head_plumage

 

And the finished illustration…

small_owl_complete_HDR_FIN_WEB

4 thoughts on “Little Owl – Illustration in Gouache

Leave a Reply

