A Barn Owl from Memory – playing with colour

Rather than work through some more of my watercolour book I want to spend some time getting used to my new Winsor and Newton Paints.  My favourite animal is the Barn Owl.  Barn Owls are completely silent when they hunt.  The fly really  slowly, so much so that they seem to be just hanging in the air.  I once had the privilege of watching one in the Cambridgeshire countryside in the early evening just meters from me.  It was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen in my life.  I hope I never forget it.

Here are some photos (not my work) of this beautiful creature:

barn owl in tree

barn owl in flight

barnowl on fence post

I have a collection of Barn Owl photographs (hundreds of photos) which helps me know the animal quite well visually.  So I decided to paint a picture of one without any reference – from memory.

Here’s the background, which I painted first:

owl_partway

Any here’s the finished painting:

barnowlongreen_fin_web

Looking at it now I can see lots of improvements I would make if I painted this again – but he’s recognisably an owl!

2 thoughts on “A Barn Owl from Memory – playing with colour

Leave a Reply

