If at first you don’t succeed…

Today I kept looking at the ‘moody sky’ I attempted to paint a few days ago.  The colours really spoke to me – phthalo blue and cadmium yellow with a tiny bit of green to take the edge off it.  But the painting itself was quite poor – the sky was overworked and I didn’t sort out where my light would be  until after I’d already painted a lot of it.  So I decided to have another go and be much more bold with the sky.

Here’s the original I painted a couple of days ago:

Stormoverthecottage_FIN_WEB

And here is my new, bolder, sky…

Stormovercottage_VERSION2_fin_WEB

I really prefer the newer one.  Have a great weekend!   🙂

2 thoughts on “If at first you don’t succeed…

Leave a Reply

