Oil Painting for the Serious Beginner – BOOK TRIAL #4

Today I’m looking at the last of the books I’m reviewing as ways to improve my painting.  It’s a book on Oil Painting:

“Oil Painting for the Serious Beginner” by Steve Allrich

 

oilpainting

This is a proper teaching book!  🙂   It’s quite wordy but no less effective for that.  Mr Allrich’s style is quite formal rather than chatty but what he’s actually teaching is easy to understand and really really interesting.  Along with the text are lots of pictures showing different stages in painting which do clearly illustrate the points being made.  More than just useful though, many of these pictures are beautiful to look at too which I find really inspiring.  The book really does provide a complete course for beginners to oil paint.  In fact, from what I’ve read so far, although the book is written specifically for training an oil painter, there is a lot in it which is good advice for any kind of painter.

Working with this book is great.  I get the feeling that the author is walking me through everything I need to know to be a decent oil painter.  He goes into siginificant detail too explaining exactly how to work with teh paint on the brush and not get things mixed and muddied.  At the end of the book are a series of demonstrations which you can try to make use of all you have learned.

I think the only negative thing I would say about the book is that, there aren’t exercises all the way through to demonstrate the teaching points the author makes.  That said, it would be easy to work on a num ber of pictures alongside reading the book, trying out the things the author is teaching.

I will definitiely be using this book in the future when I get enough courage to try oil paints again.

My first try at oil paint was while I was at university.  It’s a crucifiction scene and I drew too many ribs!  Well, you live and learn…    🙂

 

crucifiction

Leave a Reply

