Watercolour Painting: Expert Answers – BOOK TRIAL #2

watercolourbook

I’ve read 90 pages of this book now and I can honestly say it’s brilliant.  It’s structured as a series of questions grouped into various sections e.g. Equipment and worksace, colour and composition, basic techniques etc.  The text is clear and easy to understand and it has a lot of illustrations and photos so you can see exactly what the author, George James, is talking about.  The book is over 200 pages long and I have read less than half of it so far but it has helped my watercolour work significantly.  This would be a great book to finish working through – there is so much more to learn.

 

Here are some sample pages:

wcbook2

wcbook3

wcbook1

I especially love the artwork in the fisrt and third pages – brilliant!

I think the best thing about this book is that each short question clearly covers one main teaching point which makes it easy to work on, and experiment with, in my painting.  On top of that the examples given in the book are inspiring pictures in themselves which give me the energy to get the paints out and have a go.  It’s a superb combination.  I will definitely be working through this book to the end sometime soon.   🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Watercolour Painting: Expert Answers – BOOK TRIAL #2

  1. It looks like it has a nice mix of text and pictures…without being all wordy, academically speaking cause I am a better learner in the visual sense…thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

