The Shield Knot

A while ago I did some more carving.  I had some mahogany offcuts from a local timber yard and decided to make a family present from one of them.  I drew a shield knot onto the wood and then carved it out.  I used the same tools as I used for the Wand last Friday – but no Dremel.

tools

The carving took over a week but was incredibly relaxing to do.  I really enjoyed it.  Once I had the carving work done I painted the carved areas with a dark brown acrylic paint, to make it really stand out, and then varnished the whole thing.

Here’s the finished work:

Shield Knot Carving1_WEB

And here’s a close up:

Shield Knot Carving2_web

4 thoughts on “The Shield Knot

Leave a Reply

