Postcard Art – Fire and Water

Before my holiday I bought some postcards made of watercolour paper which you can paint on.  I decided to try to make a little series of four – fire, water, eart and air.  The idea was to make four simple pictures and colour them brightly.

Here are the first two:

fire_fin_webAbove is fire – in a kind of Krakatoa sort of way.   🙂

I feel quite pleased with how it turned out.  While it’s not exactly fine art, it ended up how I imagined it to begin with.

Next – water…

The line work on this turned out how I wanted but I’m not entirely convinced about the colours.  Tomorrow I’m going to try ‘earth’ and ‘air’.

PS:  It occurs to me that little watercolour manga postcards might be a cool idea.  (Not as ‘cool’ as in what teenagers say is cool because that never does it for me anyway, even when I can understand it – but ‘cool’ as in the Eleventh Doctor from Dr Who….

“See the bowtie?  

I wear it and I don’t care.

That’s why it’s cool.”

7 thoughts on “Postcard Art – Fire and Water

  1. I’d not seen it like that before your comment – he does look quite exuberant! Thanks!
    Sorry to hear that your stuck at the moment. Your work is lovely – I would love to see more. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Jo!
    Love these…I was chuckling as this is the first time I have ever seen a happy volcano…sweet! Vibrant and upbeat…your sailboat as well…very leading! Good stuff! Can’t wait to see more…I am “stuck” on a painting right now…siiiiigh!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. No, I don’t mind at all. Thank-you 🙂 It’s interesting that you see that. I think what I feel is really just a shift in focus from being self-conscious and results-orientated to being focused on enjoying the art. There’s a freedom and expansiveness in that which I’ve not felt before. It reminds me a bit of a quote from the beautiful film ‘Frida’ about the life of Frida Kahlo. Diego Rivera tells her when she asks for his honest opinion:

    “What do you care about my opinion? If you’re a real painter, you’ll paint because you can’t live without painting. You’ll paint till you die.”

    I think I feel like that, but in a more conservative English way (i.e. I feel it but wouldn’t necessarily express it like that.)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If you don’t mind me saying so, you seem to be much more comfortable and happy with your style now. Evident not just in your Doctor quote but in how you talk about your work. Great to read.
    Cheers, Dale

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

