The Hummingbird

This is the second line and wash picture I made before going away on holiday.  My idea was to paint a Hummingbird.

Here is the original sketch:

hummingbirddrawing

And here I’m beginning to paint – always a scary moment!   🙂

hummingbird_beginingtopaintI decided about halfway through that I wanted to paint a background for this animal so I quickly sketched out my idea to see if it would work:

hummingbirdbackgroundsketchThen I painted the whole thing and added some my ink afterwards to really pick out the bird from the background:

hummingbird_FIN_WEB

With this painting I used standard watercolours rather than the pencils and I definitely prefer them – although that could just be a measure of my lack of ability to use the pencils well.

Leave a Reply

