Red-Eared Terrapin – Watercolour

After my monkey adventure yesterday I wanted to stay with the theme of animals.  This time I chose a Red-Eared Terrapin.  (I think they’re called ‘turtles’ or ‘sliders’ in the US.)  They are beautiful animals with green and very light green stripes.  At first I tried to paint this little guy exactly as he is but once i started on the shell I got caught up with the lovely patterns.

Here is my reference image from my big animal book:

terrapinreference_WEBAnd here is the painting:

Terrapin_FIN_WEB - Copy

Leave a Reply

