Beginning a Line and Wash Picture

Of all the work I looked at last week one of the most vivid was this one, by Annya Kai:

Abstract Peacock - Annya Kai
Abstract Peacock – Annya Kai (NOT the work of Jo Fox)

I love the blue and greens, the sharp, clearly defined shapes and the less defined background.  I’m not even close to being able to paint a picture like that but it is inspiring.  I just think it’s beautiful.  (Also, and this is slightly an autistic thing I think, she uses a shape I have loved for years – it’s like a slightly wonky teardrop shape.  These shapes have been fundamental to some of the abstract acylic work I’ve done in the past.  In fact the only shape I love more is a perfect sphere.  Obviously here she is using the shape as an artistic interpretation of a peakcock feather, and it really works, but I love it for the shape alone.

So, I thought intially I would try to paint something based on the teardrop shape using some blues and greens.

These were my initial sketches – just playing around with shapes and, later,  patterns:

initialshapes1 initialshapes2 initialshapes3I’m sure you can see how Annya’s work has inspired this.

Anyway, once I got this far I started to think of the teardrop shape as a fish and thought I would try it out in a drawing:

fishshape_pencilThis came out as it is, on the first attempt, and I liked it so I began to ink it…

fishshape_inkUntil finally I ended up with this ink drawing ready for my line and wash:

Fish_INK_FIN_WEB

It’s come a long way from Annya’s inpirational Peacock painting but I am happy with it so far.  Tomorrow I’m going to attempt to give it a watercolour wash.  I really hope I don’t mess it up.

(All Images unless otherwise explicitly stated are © Jo Fox, 2015)

Leave a Reply

