Amazing Line and Wash Paintings…

As well as regualr watercolour paintings I have also been exploring other people’s ‘Line and Wash’ pictures.  They are amazing!  Originally I was looking for ‘Line and Wash’ work where the line was ink and the wash was watercolour but I soon discovered that there’s also a wonderful technique using ink washes over line work, or even on their own.  In my own work at the moment I want to stick with the watercolours for my wash ink washes are definitely something I would like to experiment with in the future.

So the work I found looks like this (as usual I have endeavoured to find the artist of each piece of art and included that in the caption).  Please be aware none of these pictures are my own – they are by other fabulous artists who inpire me with their work.

These first 6 use a very simple wash of one or two colours along with the line work – some of which looks like it’s been done wet on wet which is very clever.  I think this is really effective especially for illustration purposes.  It gives an ink drawing a lot of atmosphere.  I really really like it.

John Holdcroft - ink and watercolour
John Holdcroft – ink and watercolour
Ink wash by lucky978
Ink wash by lucky978
Venice Canal with parked gondolas By Alan Kirk
Venice Canal with parked gondolas By Alan Kirk
Pen and ink wash by ceara (on DeviantArt)
Pen and ink wash by ceara (on DeviantArt)
Hare by Sue Smith
Hare by Sue Smith
Ink and Wash by J Entwhistle
Ink and Wash by J Entwhistle

The next one actually uses ink lines and then the artist added colour with watercolour pencils which seems like an interesting way of doing it.  I think the effect is good and it sounds like quite a controllable way to get the paint on too.

Port I Stenvägg Rez
Port I Stenvägg Rez

The following are all very different by each beautiful in it’s own way.

Tiger by Sharon Wagstaff
Tiger by Sharon Wagstaff
Le Gai Chateau (pen and ink, wash and w/c on paper)  by Hugo, Victor (1802-85)
Le Gai Chateau (pen and ink, wash and w/c on paper) by Hugo, Victor (1802-85)
JohnPiper's "Caves, Bullslaughter Bay"
JohnPiper’s “Caves, Bullslaughter Bay”
Flamingo watercolour by Tony Lawrence
Flamingo watercolour by Tony Lawrence
Eye ink wash by lucky978 (on DeviantArt)
Eye ink wash by lucky978 (on DeviantArt)
Embrace 2011 watercolour wash and ink by Jax Horswill
Embrace 2011 watercolour wash and ink by Jax Horswill
Eagleowl by Sharon Wagsta
Eagleowl by Sharon Wagsta
Abstract ink wash of fountain by dreamon14 (on DeviantArt)
Abstract ink wash of fountain by dreamon14 (on DeviantArt)

Finally there are these three which have really beaitiful line work and bright colours which I really like:

Flying_Flag_2 - Abbey Diamond
Flying Flag 2 by Abbey Diamond
Bursting by Abbey Diamond
Bursting by Abbey Diamond
whitby-watercolour from Artyfactory_dot_com
Whitby watercolour from Artyfactory.com – I really love the detail on this picture – it’s brilliant!

When I first began to have a go at watercolour I mistakenly thought it was all about doing pretty little paintings of cottages but there is so much to it – it’s wonderful.  I want to try out painting like some of these.  I want to try the colourful animal watercolour styles I saw yesterday.  I want to try the very limited pallette line and wash paintings at the top of this post.  I want to try a bright coloured effect like Abbey Diamond uses and I want to draw and colour a really detailed ink drawing like the last picture on today’s post from Artyfactory.com.  There is just so much to learn and try and work on.  I am amazed.

2 thoughts on “Amazing Line and Wash Paintings…

Leave a Reply

