Digital Painting #2

At the moment I’m having a look at techniques in digital painting.  I found a good tutorial here: The Quiver Tree.  So today I had a go at using this technique.

GOTBookCoverImgaeLast night I was reading ‘Game of Thrones’ by George R. R. Martin (which I am really enjoying.)  I like the way each house has an animal, a colour and some words.  I love the cold, I love wild country and I like the decency and truthfulness of the Starks of Winterfell.  So I guess if I lived in that world I would be happiest among the Stark family with the words ‘Winter Is Coming’ and the Direwolf for my flag and the colours white and blue/grey, even if I was one of their servants (I would most like to be a Magister and practice learning and healing).  Anyway, after reading all of that, I remembered that I needed a sketch for this digital painting so I scribbled one down in pencil and then made some changes in black biro….

1SketchThis is the sketch after I’ve photgraphed it and uploaded it to my PC.  It is of a wolf on the side of a hill and represents how O feel about the Stark family from Game of Thrones.   (I had a bit of trouble with the sketch because after I’d drawn it (loosley using a picture from online) I realised that the photo I was looking at was of an Alaskan Malamute, which is a beautiful dog and closely related to a wolf but, as far as I know, not a true wolf.  So I looked at a true wolf and altered my sketch a bit.

My next job, acording to the tutorial I was following, was to block in all the main areas.  Which ended up looking like this:

2gapsAs I began to move on from this and put in my background with more detail I found that it was very difficult because I kept running up against foreground items and my strokes were quite broken.  So I scrapped this approach and decided to paint digitally as if I were using acrylics and letting them dry between layers.

So first I did the base background colour:

3backgrounddoneThen I added my rocks:

4backgroundNext came the trees:

5background

Then I worked on my wolf:

6foregroundFinally, I placed him in Westeros on the side of a hill and worked for a short while anchoring things with shadow.

winteriscoming_FIN_WEB

This is my final painting (click to see a bigger version).  While little wolfy here is OK the thing I’m really pleased with is the background which didn’t take too long and would make a decent background for some comic-book foreground adventures.

The whole thing took about 2 hours from loading the sketch into Manga Studio to putting a border around the picture.

Since this is a picture of a wolf and I know she loves all animals, I want to dedicate this one to my friend Christine who has just come out of hospital and is recovering at home. xxx   🙂

(All Images unless otherwise explicitly stated are © Jo Fox, 2015)

One thought on “Digital Painting #2

Leave a Reply

